Click It or Ticket Campaign March 1st - 14th
From March 1 to March 14 officers, troopers and deputies will be on the lookout for people not wearing their seat belts. These law enforcement agencies will be taking a no-excuses approach to seat belt law enforcement, writing citations day and night. In Palm Beach County, the maximum penalty for a seat belt violation is $116.00.
Florida law requires drivers, front seat passengers and anyone under the age of 18 to wear a seat belt. Buckling up can be crucial in surviving a crash. Among drivers people between 18-24 years are less likely to use a seat belt, talk to your teens about buckling up to save lives. One good decision can influence peers to do the same.
All children should be safely buckled in the back seat of the motor vehicle. Children under the age 4 must be in a child safety seat; children ages 4 and 5 must be in a child safety seat or booster seat. You can visit our neighboring Police Department, Palm Springs Police Department, to show you how to secure your child seat and check the security of your seat if installed already.
The Florida Highway Patrol says buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself and your family in a crash. The bottom line is that seat belts save lives.